Friday, November 2, 2007

FOB Freedom, IZ, Iraq
2017

I forgot to mention on yesterday’s entry that I called John in the morning, still 11pm in Colorado. All I could say was “Happy Birthday From Iraq” and somehow our call ended. With John I really don’t need to say much, and we both suck on the phone anyway. I do miss that guy horribly.
I just got back from spending half an hour at the fire. Behind one of the FOB’s buildings there’s an open field by the fishing pond. There’s an open fireplace there, and almost every night a handful of soldiers will gather and just chill out, pretending that the malt beverages had alcohol and that it was 2am instead of 2000.
Our last trip to the massive Liberty/Victory base by the airport, I went into the bazaar that hosts lots of Iraqi stands selling crap you don’t need. I bought a cheap, very cheap, guitar and have started to relearn all my non-Jesus songs. Tonight’s hit was “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” by Deep Blue Something, from way back in the day.
I’ve christened our hallway “E-4 Heaven,” as all occupants minus Dellicker are E-4s and there are so sergeants to bother us. There’s an ongoing battle though on the hall’s dry erase board that we write our locations on when we’re not in the building. Through the course of the day various things will appear on the board besides official business, such as Chuck Norris sayings and Will Ferrell quotes, but at odd hours all this madness gets erased. As self-appointed “The Management” of E-4 Heaven, I’ve been posting messages for the erasing party to identify themselves. So far no luck. I just hope its not the captain or first sergeant.
Or internet access should be coming soon, soon meaning two weeks.
Tonight I ate chow next to Corporal Steele, the third deployment medic who speaks Arabic plays bagpipes and juggles. He said yesterday he went on his own to downtown Baghdad, the old city, and walked around without his body armor, talking to the Iraqi police and security forces. He also just chatted with people, asking about their health and doing what he could. He said he’s going back tomorrow to hand our medicine and be more of everybody’s hero. Steels is also the quickest to kill. As we ate one of the Oklahomans, who Steele described as his counterpart after the fact, made a loud jovial ruckus. Steel smoothly raised out of his chair with the speed of a striking cobra with his fist drawn back, ready to engage whatever was making all that noise, and just as quickly sat back down and resumed talking about being a badass.
Tomorrow we’re headed out to Hashimi’s Red Zone office. Today I put together why most of these guys have houses and offices both inside and outside the secure IZ. They may have to see people and do business that can’t get past the IZ checkpoints. Reassuring. We’ve reconned the route three times, and its total sketchy. We drive down Sketchy Street to Sketchy Traffic Circle 1, go through Sketchy Market 1 to Sketchy Traffic Circle 2, and post up just outside Sketchy Market 2. The Oklahomans haven’t had any problems, and we’ll be rolling out with all of Hashimi’s security gun trucks, but it’s still the real deal and will have us on edge.
Third squad also has two missions tomorrow to drive some captains around the IZ and then out to BIAP, so their morale has improved with being useful.
Yesterday I had some good talks with SPC Ludavicz and SPC Miller and SPC Ventullo. Luda told me about going to Haiti on a mission trip and his church and an old girlfriend, Miller about the lagging boredom, and V about having kids. Good shit, connecting with people.
I’m from 2nd Squad kid, I don’t give a f***.

Next post: November 6

About Righteous Shred

I am the pastor of the United Methodist church in Breckenridge, Colorado. I try to follow Jesus, serve people, and create community. I am a devoted fan of SpongeBob and veteran of the war in Iraq. I am an avid snowboarder. I live to ride the gnar in winter on the big mountains of Colorado. On the slopes you can call me The Honey Badger. Nothing can stop The Honey Badger when it's hungry. It takes what it wants. You can learn more about the church I serve at fatherdyer.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment